1982 Annual Meeting and Acquisition Vote

Our guest speaker will be artist James Turrell, whose artwork “Rayna”, 1979, will be presented to The Art Institute as the 1981 gift of the Society. The James Turrell light environment is an extraordinary work for us to add to the collection, representing one of America’s outstanding contemporary artists at the top of his powers. The Society will view and vote on our 1982 gift to the 20th Century Department from several works in the current American Exhibition. The artists whose work will be voted upon are: Elizabeth Murray, Siah Armajani, Dan Graham, and Joel Shapiro.