Mission: The Society for Contemporary Art (SCA) supports the Art Institute of Chicago by engaging the community in a dialogue about the art of our time and acquiring works that enrich the museum’s collection.

The SCA was founded at the Art Institute of Chicago in 1940 to promote a better understanding and appreciation of the art of our time. Through its lectures and events, the Society has become one of the museum’s principal vehicles for exploring new and challenging art. Monthly SCA programs provide access to an exciting roster of leading national and international artists, dealers, critics, historians, and curators, as well as visits to distinguished private collections and major art centers within the United States and abroad.

The Society has also made a tremendous impact on the museum’s collection of modern and contemporary art. On an annual basis, acquisition committee members review a carefully selected group of contemporary works and present them throughout the Art Institute’s galleries. The entire membership then votes to purchase artwork for the museum’s permanent collection. Over the years, the SCA has acquired more than 150 works of art by distinguished artists such as Emma Amos, Carl Andre, Lee Bontecou, Larry Clark, Tacita Dean, Nicole Eisenman, Leon Golub, Dan Graham, Maren Hassinger, Jasper Johns, Donald Judd, Guillermo Kuitca, Joan Mitchell, Jackson Pollock, Paul Sharits, Lorna Simpson, James Turrell, Martin Wong, and Christopher Wool.

Board of Directors 2020-2021

David Egeland

Vice President and Acquisitions
Jessica Diamond

Linda Usher

Fenton Booth

Stephanie Skestos Gabriele

Patty Sternberg

Macol Stewart Cerda

Michelle Holland



Larry Antonatos

Eszter Borvendeg

Jacolyn Bucksbaum

Dirk Denison

Michelle Edwards

Aron Gent

Paula Molner

Kate Neisser

William Padnos

Paul Rehder


Jennifer Cordileone
Executive Director

Jennifer Moon
Associate Director